ESC 2011: Anton Attard Defeated in Reference Group Election


The preparations for the Eurovision Song Contest are currently going on at full speed and with the draw for the running order taking place within the last couple of days, the delegations are ready to give it their all. As always, an outgoing team of experts comes in and joins the appointed member of the European Broadcasting Union at the table to discuss issues in relation to the event in general. This year, the reference group was changing completely and there is quite an interesting team in place.

The elections for the new reference group took place within the Heads of Delegation meeting on Tuesday and the results are quite pleasant with the new members already looking forward to move the event forward. This could have been a totally new reference group with the outgoing Svante Stockselius nowhere to be seen as Norwegian Jon Ola Sand takes his position as the new European Broadcasting Union Supervisor. One of the people who sought to become a member of the reference group is none other than our Head of Delegation and Public Broadcasting Services, Chief Executive Officer, Anton Attard who failed to garner enough votes unfortunately despite his vast experience in production. The elected members are as follows:

1 Year Term

  • Bruno Berbérès (France 3, France)

2 Year Term

  • Christer Björkman (SVT, Sweden)
  • Dejan Kukric (BHRT, Bosnia & Herzegovina)
  • Maarten Verhaeghen (VRT, Belgium)

Not Elected

  • Anton Attard (PBS, Malta)
  • Maia Baratashvili (GPB, Georgia)
  • Federico Llano (TVE, Spain)

Some history about the Reference Group is that it is a group of members of Heads of Delegations who join forces in order to approve the development and future format of the Eurovision Song Contest, securing the financing, modernising the brand and raising awareness and overseeing the yearly preparation by the Host Broadcaster. Developed back in 1998, it has always sought the very best for the event and one could be sure that these people will be doing the same this time round.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here