Albania: Rona Nishliu Wins Barbara Dex Award


Rona Nishliu, the Albanian representative in the Eurovision Song Contest last week in Baku, has won the majority of the votes (829) and was announced as the winner of the Barbara Dex Award, followed by Ireland’s duo, Jedward and Bulgaria’s Sofi Marinova. 

If someone has never heard of this award, here’s the gist of it; the annual price for the worst dressed artist in the contest. This award was in fact named after the 1993 Belgian representative, Barbara Dex. This year’s award, saw a record-breaking number of votes. A total of 2,851 valid votes were cast. According to The House of Eurovision, organisers of the award, Rona Nishliu emerged as a clear favourite to lift the trophy from the beginning of the voting. Her blue and black dress and donut-shaped hairdo was the first choice for 829 voters. Well, she kind of was willing to win this award with that ‘scary’ and ‘ambiguous’ so called costume!

The Irish duo are once again runner ups for this award for the second consecutive time. Yes, infact, last year, they were also placed in second place. This year, they gained 551, whilst the rest, 232. Were gained by the Bulgarian representative, Sofi Marinova. Below you can see the top ten of this year’s edition of the Barbara Dex Award:

01. Albania – Rona Nishliu (829)

02. Ireland – Jedward (551)

03. Bulgaria – Sofi Marinova (232)

04. The Netherlands – Joan Franka (163)

05. Ukraine – Gaitana (145)

06. Denmark – Soluna Samay (82)

07. Turkey – Can Bonomo (76)

08. Sweden – Loreen (66)

09. Bosnia & Herzegovina – Maya Sar (62)

10. San Marino – Valentina Monetta (62)

Source: Eurovision House


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here