KKI 14: New Committee Reveals Regulations


Earlier this afternoon, Media.Link Communications held a press conference launching the 23rd edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza to much fanfare with Claudette Buttigieg announced as the new chairperson, whilst being supported by Noel Castillo, Charles Stroud and Frederick Zammit. The latter two, both being former Chairmen of the competition bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the table having together orchestrated some of the most successful editions of the local song competition. With songwriters such as Chan Vella, Marlon Polidano, Renato Briffa and Joe Chircop in attendance along with representatives of Kurt Galea and Domenique amongst others, it seems that the interest is quite existent.

The brand new rules and regulations left the people in attendance somewhat unimpressed though, noting that instead of having a separate award for tele-voting, it has now been included as part and parcel of the final result, albeit at a 40% margin as opposed to the 60% margin. Those present argued that this is unfair especially when considering that the winner of the former tends to be quite different from the one of the latter. Only one song had achieved both trophies in the past, that being Deborah C in 2012 with the song Jekk Nużaw Moħħna written by Mark Spiteri Lucas and Joe Chircop. Other notable changes in the rules and regulations are that instead of having two separate phases in the final, they will merge seeing to the competition of twenty-three entries, with the winner of the Talent Ġdid portion still given a separate award.


A positive about the document presented to those present is that thirty entries in the Talent Stabbilit will all be presented during Indifest, as will fifteen entries in the Talent Ġdid. They will be brought down to twenty and three, respectively for the final night of the competition which will be held in the week leading up to the fiftieth anniversary since Malta gained its independence. One of the major pre-requisites that the committee is pushing towards is the establishment of the proper terms to accompany the categories present. In the Talent Stabbilit, only artists who have been in L-Għanja tal-Poplu, Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza, Festival Internazzjonali tal-Kanzunetta Maltija, Malta Junior Eurosong  and the Malta Eurovision Song Contest are allowed to submit songs whilst the other category, Talent Ġdid will only be open to newcomers. No age range has been given in any category in order to ascertain entries from anyone. For any queries or any clarifications, the committee could be contacted through this email address. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for all the latest news.

Source: Malta Right Now, Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza (Official Page)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here