SHSC 15: High Quality of Entries Leads to 21 Finalists


On Saturday 18th April, a special edition of The Celebrity Night, hosted by Deo Grech on F Living led to the revelation of the finalists for the 2015 edition of the Summer Hit Song Contest. In a surprise twist, the organising committee thought it best to include 21 entries, rather than the original 17 for the simple reason ‘that the quality of entries is much higher than in previous years’.

This year, a record number of 89 submissions were sent in for the Summer Hit Song Contest, with a professional panel of judges first whittling them down to 30, before eventually making the final selection, thus eliminating a total of 10 songs, all of which were deemed to be possible qualifiers. In a statement to this portal, Deo Grech stated that ‘another successful edition of the Summer Hit Song Contest’ is on the agenda with a mixture of new, and established artists, all seeking the main prizes.

Amour (Philip Vella) – Danica Muscat

Astronaut (Marco Debono / Rita Pace) – Maria Cassar

Bandwagon (Pamela Bezzina / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Sarah Bonnici

Bounce Back (Renato Briffa / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Michela Galea

Dangerous (Elton Zarb / Matt ‘Muxu’ Mercieca) – Jillianne Camilleri

Do It Better (Rita Pace) – Rita Pace & Audrey Marie

Eclipse (Andrew Zammit / Rita Pace) – Ana-Maria Grima

Escape (Carlo Gerada / Matt ‘Muxu’ Mercieca) – Stefan Galea

Feel (Joe George Micallef) – Odessa

Freedom (Elton Zarb / Matt ‘Muxu’ Mercieca) – Simaria Galea

Guess What? (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) – Christian Arding

Hurricane (Elton Zarb / Matt ‘Muxu’ Mercieca) – Marilena Gauci 

If I Only Knew (Pamela Bezzina / Sarah Crystal) – Sarah Crystal

Lessons in Love (Ray Agius / Rita Pace) – Dario Mifsud Bonnici

Lucky Me (Kaya / Rita Pace) – Graziella Vella

One of a Kind (Andrew Zahra / Rita Pace) – Michela Dalli

Remember (Yann Charpentier / Emilio Martinez Verdejo / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Marie Claire

Shattered Dreams (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) – Annalise Psaila

Summer Time (Marco Debono / Doris Chetcuti) – Kurt Cassar 

Tabula Rasa (Augusto Cardinali / Giovann Attard) – Julie Pomorski 

Unbreakable (Marco Debono / Rita Pace) – Cherylis

In support of the local music scene, and the festival circuit, will be interviewing all of the acts competing in the 2015 edition of the Summer Hit Song Contest over the next couple of weeks and months, following the aftermath of the Eurovision Song Contest. We kindly urge you to stay tuned to even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about the 2015 edition of the Summer Hit Song Contest.

Source: F Living


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here