KKI 2015: Rules and Regulations Officially Issued


As has become customary, Media.Link Communications held a press conference to launch the 24th edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza, spearheaded by Charles Stroud as the new Chairman, whilst being flanked by Sandra Grech, Clarissa Ellul and Noel D’Amato. A full copy of the regulations as well as the applications may be obtained through MaltaRightNow, for both KKI 2015 and for KKI Jr 2015. Another new regulation is that every artist is limited to the submission of only 6 prospective entries, noting that he may only perform 1 song during the final night.

Due to the negative impact brought about by the rules and regulations presented for the 24th edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza, with worthy songs such as “Ma Tintefix” sung by Neville Refalo, “Kastelli Fl-Arja” sung by Gloriana Arpa Belli and “Int” sung by Laura Bruno left out of the final selection of 20 finalists, the organising committee thought it best to return to the original method of selection whereas it will be the professional jury who will pick those who will compete in the final night, and as a result, 20 finalists will be chosen from the judging phase. Once more tele-voting will be applied only during the final, and will have merit as a stand-alone award.

Important Dates 

KKI 2015

Submission: 17th July (till 7 pm)

1st Eliminatory Phase: 18th July (CD)

2nd Eliminatory Phase: 25th July (LIVE) 


KKI Jr 2015

Submission: 17th July (till 7 pm)

1st Eliminatory Phase: 19th July (CD)

2nd Eliminatory Phase: 29th July (LIVE) 

Following the success of newcomer Michela Galea, whose entry “Mixja Li Bdiet” composed by Renato Briffa to the lyrics of Alfred E Baldacchino was a worthy winner, it seems that interest is well and truly alive, noting the belief that the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza may once more make a name for itself as a scouting competition, with previous winners including; Amber (ESC 2015), Ira Losco (ESC 2002), Miriam Christine (ESC 1996), Mike Spiteri (ESC 1995) and Fabrizio Faniello (ESC 2001, 2006).

Source: Malta Right Now, Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza (Official Page)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here