GħTP 2018: Presenting the 16 finalists for the 42nd Edition


On the 2nd and the 3rd June, a professional panel of expert judges were listening to 42 original songs, all of which were hoping to make-up the final 16 entries for the upcoming edition of L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija. In the end, even though there was a fierce competition, some high-quality entries were said to have been left out with others making the final composition.

It is extremely impressive that this year, the organising committee received no less than 137 submissions owing to the competitions’ growing profile in recent years. In 2017, Jessica Magro made a successful debut leaving with the trophy for her incredible rendition of “Meta r-Ramel Jitħallat Mas-Silġ”, composed by Pamela Bezzina and penned by Paul Ellul.

These are the 16 entries for the 42nd edition of L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija, with the songwriters (lyricist first, composer second) in brackets:

Allura – Philip Vella (Joe Chircop, Philip Vella)
Anamika – Monica Said (Monica Said, Conrad Dimech & Michael Camilleri)
Bis-Serqa – Rita Pace (Rita Pace)
Din L-Art Ħelwa – Dominic & Ina (Joe Julian Farrugia, Andrew Zahra)
Fi Lsien In-Nies – Dario & Grecia Bezzina (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Dario Bezzina)
Fjuri tal-Karti – Krista Spiteri Lucas (Paul Ellul, Mark Spiteri Lucas)
Ħadd Ma Jaf Xi Jrid – Jamm Band (Jamm Band)
L-Aħħar Żifna – Mark Cachia (Mark Cachia)
L-Immigrant – Alan Casha (Alan Casha & Andrew Vella)
Mhux Kif Ħsibt – Dwett (Giovann Attard, Pamela Bezzina & Alex Debono)
Mhux Kulma Jleqq Deheb – Michela Galea (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Renato Briffa)
Min Aħna? – Cain Portelli (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Philip Vella)
Nistenniek – Charlene Mercieca Magro (Corazon Mizzi)
Pawlu l-Babaw – Neville Refalo (Corazon Mizzi & Neville Refalo)
Wegħdni – Lydon Incorvaja (Rita Pace, Glen Vella)

Those who were involved in this year’s professional jury in either the first or second phase of the competition included: Bertu Aquilina, Michael Bugeja, Rita Calleja, Maria Ciappara, Vince Fabri, Justin Galea, Frank O’Neill, Vanni Pule, Jesmond Tedesco Triccas, and Mariele Zammit.

The 42nd edition of L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija will be taking place at Pjazza Teatru Rjal on the 1st September 2018 in collaboration with L-Akkademja tal-Malti, Kunsill Malti għall-Arti – Cultural Partnership Agreement and the Malta Concert Orchestra under the direction of Maestro Joe Brown and Maestro Paul Abela. For more information, either visit ghanjafest.com or else logon to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter.

Source: ghanjafest.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here