GħTP 2018: Running Order Made Public


The 42nd edition of the festival L-Għanja tal-Poplu will take place on Saturday 1st September 2018 at Pjazza Teatru Rjal in Valletta. The 16 competing entries which were chosen from 137 submissions will be accompanied by the Malta Concert Orchestra which in turn will be composed of 40 musicians under the direction of Mro Joe Brown and Mro Paul Abela.

Mr Charles Schembri, Chairman of the festival announced that the winners this year will be chosen through a combination of popular and expert voting. He also noted down that the festival is organised by the Maltese for the Maltese. Throughout these 42 editions, hundreds of composers, authors, singer-songwriters, musicians and singers contributed their work while always hitting the imagination, aspiration, creativity and enthusiasm of the Maltese public. Mr Albert Marshall, executive chairman of the Kunsill Malti għall-Arti said that the festival should continue to work in favour of our cultural identity through Maltese songs, which in turn have to be innovative and of high quality.

L-Għanja tal-Poplu is being organised with the help of the Cultural Partnership Agreement of the Kunsill Malti għall-Arti, along with the Malta Concert Orchestra and Pjazza Teatru Rjal, whose resources are being offered so that this edition is yet another success.

The presenters for this festival will be Kim Dalli and Owen Bonnici. In the second part of the festival, Mro Paul Abela will be exhibiting some of the successes throughout his musical careers. Tickets for this festival can be obtained from www.ticketline.com.mt with special prices of €10 till the 10th August.

The running order of the 16 finalists for the 42nd edition of L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija

Name of Song – Singer (Author, Composer)

1 – Għaliex Tlaqt? – Ruth Portelli (Ryan Caruana, Mark Scicluna)
2 – Min Aħna? – Cain (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Philip Vella)
3 – Nistenniek – Charlene (Corazón Mizzi)
4 – Allura – Philip Vella (Joe Chircop, Philip Vella)
5 – L-Immigrant – Alan Casha (Alan Casha & Andrew Vella)
6 – Fjuri tal-Karti – Krista Spiteri Lucas (Paul Ellul, Mark Spiteri Lucas)
7 – L-Aħħar Żifna – Mark Cachia (Singer-Songwriter)
8 – Pawlu l-Babaw – Neville Refalo (Corazón Mizzi & Neville Refalo)
9 – Anamika – Monica Said (Monica Said, Conrad DImech & Michael Camilleri)
10 – Mhux Kif Ħsibt – Dwett (Giovann Attard, Pamela Bezzina & Alex Debono)
11 – Din L-Art Ħelwa – Dominic & Ina (Joe Julian Farrugia, Andrew Zahra)
12 – Mhux Kulma Jleqq Deheb – Michela Galea (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Renato Briffa)
13 – Ħadd Ma Jaf Xi Jrid – JAMM Band (Singer-Songwriters)
14 – Bis-Serqa – Rita Pace (Singer-Songwriter)
15 – Wegħdni – Lydon Incorvaja (Rita Pace, Glen Vella)
16 – Fi Lsien in-Nies – Dario & Grecia Bezzina (Emil Calleja Bayliss & Dario Bezzina, Dario Bezzina)

L-Għanja tal-Poplu is organised by L-Għanja tal-Poplu committee together with Pjazza Teatru Rjal with the collaboration of L-Akkademja tal-Malti. The Malta Concert Orchestra will be lending its support to this festival working hand in hand with the composers of the finalist participants. L-Għanja tal-Poplu is supported by the Kunsill Malti għall-Malti – Cultural Partnership Agreement.

Source: Press Release, Ghanjafest.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here