Malta’s twelve finalists announced for Junior Eurovision 2020


PBS Malta have released the names of the twelve finalists for the Maltese national selection for this year’s edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest.

The twelve finalists will soon sing their original songs live in front of a jury, in a filmed session which will eventually be shown on TV and published on social media for televoting purposes in mid-September. The voting will be equally shared between professional jury and televoting to determine the winner, which will be announced by the end of the month – in the event of a tie, the jury’s favourite will have preference.

  • Leah Cauchi – “Anġli” (Angels) (Cyprian Cassar / Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Leah Mifsud – “Anywhere” (Aidan Cassar)
  • Isaac Tom – “Beside Me” (Isaac Tom / Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Mariah Cefai – “Change the Silence” (Gillian Attard / Matthew Muxu Merceica)
  • Chanel Monseigneur – “Chasing Sunsets” (Peter Borg / Aleandro Spiteri Monseigneur / Joe Roscoe / Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Yulan Law & Gianluca Cilia – “Deck of Cards” (Philip Vella / Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Kaya Gouder Curmi – “Made of Stars” (Gillian Attard / Matthew Muxu Mercieca)
  • Emma Cutajar – “Modern-Day Cinderella” (Kaya / Gerard James Borg)
  • Anneka Xerri – “Moving” (Marco Debono / Rita Pace)
  • Zaira Mifsud & Eksenia Sammut – “Only Live Once” (Cyprian Cassar / Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Michela Caruana – “Replay” (Cyprian Cassar / Matthew Muxu Mercieca)
  • Mychael Bartolo Chircop – “The Child From Inside” (Kaya / Yaron Malachi Sharon)

Leah Cauchi was the runner up in last year’s national selection, placing second with the song “Illejla” (Tonight). Eksenia Sammut and Yulan Law took part in last year’s selection, whilst Zaira Mifsud and Isaac Tom took part in the 2018 national selection. Gianluca Cilia represented Malta in the 2017 edition of the contest with the song “Dawra Tond“, placing 2nd with the public and 9th overall.

This year’s edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest is set to take place in Poland on November 29th at a large TV studio in the capital city of Warsaw. Malta has taken in the contest fifteen times; consistently since 2013, where Gaia Cauchi emerged victorious with her song “The Start”. The country also took the top spot in 2015, with the song “Not My Soul” performed by Destiny Chukunyere, who will represent Malta at next year’s adult Eurovision Song Contest in May. Last year, Malta was represented at the contest by Eliana Gomez Blanco, who placed 19th with the song “We Are More”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here