24 November 2017
Thursday, 12 April 2012 11:30

Exclusive: Running Order for Għanja tal-Poplu 2012 Revealed

Written by 
Rate this item
(4 votes)

One of the most interesting factors about the local music scene is that it never sleeps and mostly moves from one event to the other with the blink of an eye, therefore keeping things flowing regularly. Next up is the competition known as the Għanja tal-Poplu which is being revitalised to a successful venture by virtue of a change in regulations, a new appointment to the organisational committee and also more media support noting that news outlets like escflashmalta will be covering the event more in depth hence, a closer look at the competitors in the coming days. Nevertheless, the committee have decided to entrust us with the exclusivity of the running order of this years' music competition.

As the preparations for the event started, there had been talk about who will be playing the role of special guests and ultimately it was decided that one of the most popular groups in terms of Maltese folk music would be tipped and these are none other than Brikkuni who will be doing a number of tracks with extremely social lyrics. Nevertheless, for the first time ever, the committee of the Għanja tal-Poplu have decided to bring a foreign singer/songwriter in the form of Sarah Class who has worked with the likes of former Eurovision Song Contest winner; Eimear Quinn and also the outstanding Hayley Westerna who was in Malta just a couple of months ago to perform with Joseph Calleja, the tenor. In the meantime, the running order for the competition could be seen below.

1. Bâħħar - Kantilena (Drinu Camilleri)

2. Kwadru jew Tond - Rita Pace (Rita Pace)

3. Blokk Appartamenti -Tale Kwali (Antonio Olivari) 

4. Ħsad Qabel iz-zmien - Jeff Scicluna (Paul Callus / John David Zammit)

5. Ittra ta' Omm - Blackjack (Mark Agius)

6. Mhux illum - Maria Debono (Rita Pace / Mark Laurence Zammit)

7. Il-Kappar - Christabelle Curmi (Alfred E Baldacchino / Renato Briffa)

8. Umani - Clive Muscat (Paul Attard / Anthony Camilleri)

9. Irrid Ngħix - Janice Mangion (Deo Grech / Heathcliff Balzan)

10. Faċli - Charles Dalli u l-Ħbieb (Charles Dalli)

11. Kemm Aħna Kbar - Maria Carabott (Paul Callus / Conrad Briffa)

12. Tal-Komma Twila - Grecia Bezzina (Emil Calleja Bayliss / Dario Bezzina)

13. Malta Tiegħi - Kultural (Kultural)

14. Barnuża Bajda - Corinne Caruana (Rita Pace)

15. Isma' Bilfors - Mistura (Antonio Olivari)

We would also like to announce that the competition will be opened by none other than Corazon, the singer/songwriter who has won the Għanja tal-Poplu the most times in recent years. She decided on taking on a Press Relations Role this time round and also guest start in the opening part instead of competing giving other artists, the chance of garnering victory. The competition will be taking place on Saturday 21st April at the Sir Temi Zammit Hall within the University of Malta in Msida. You can obtain your tickets and the disc compilation by visiting this website over here. Stay tuned for more exclusive news on www.escflashmalta.com on the Għanja tal-Poplu and other festivities.

Source: Għanja tal-Poplu Committee 


Last modified on Saturday, 21 April 2012 19:27

Related Articles