January 23, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Thursday, 10 January 2013 19:52

Iceland: Artists for National Final Revealed

Rate this item
(2 votes)

Iceland is one of the Scandinavian countries which has found success in the Eurovision Song Contest within recent years noting that they have managed to make it through to the finals every year since 2008 when the group Euroband had performed the track This is My Life to a rousing audience which enjoyed the performance. It was followed by a first runner-up finish in 2009 with the song Is It True? performed by Yohanna and whilst subsequent entries have yet failed to match the expectations, they have not disappointed in song quality and have become a contender, having been out of the loop for quite a number of years. There seems to be a renewed interest in the Söngvakeppnin with the Icelandic broadcaster receiving a record number of 240 submissions in 2013 to see which entry will follow in the footsteps of Never Forget performed by Greta Salome and Jonsi. Following the earlier revelation of the songwriters and the song titles, the artists were revealed this evening. 

RÚV, the Icelandic broadcaster wants to make sure that the tracks that they present entries of a high quality in their national selection and therefore, artists which might have performed the initial demo of the qualifying entries might not be returning for the actual showcase with a number of other vocal artists brought about in order to give a whole outlook to the competition.The list of the entries could be seen below and there are a number of familiar names including none other than former representatives; Yohanna and Brigitta Haudkall who had represented Iceland at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2009 and 2003 respectively, both acquiring top ten positions. Some other well known individuals who have also been shortlisted as songwriters are Jonas Gladnikoff who co-wrote the Irish entries in the 2009 and 2010 continental competition being Et Cetera and It's For You as well as Ashley Hicklin who one of the songwriters behind the most impressive Belgian entry in years, that being Me and My Guitar. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for all the latest news.

First Semi-Final - Friday 25th January

  • Magni Ásgeirsson - Ekki Líta Undan (Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson / Ingibjörg Gunnarsdóttir)
  • Eyþór Ingi Gunnlaugsson - Ég á Líf (Örlygur Smári / Pétur Örn Guðmundsson)
  • Svavar Knútur Kristinsson and Hreindís Ylva Garðarsdóttir Hólm - Lífið Snýst (Óskarsson / Kristinsson)
  • Birgitta Haukdal - Meðal Andanna (Birgitta Haukdal / Sylvía Brynjarsdóttir / Gladnikoff / Down / Poglajen)
  • Edda Viðarsdóttir - Sá sem Lætur Hjartað Ráða För (Composer: Þórir Úlfarsson Lyrics: Kristján Hreinsson)
  • Jóhanna Guðrún Jónsdóttir (Yohanna) - Þú (Composer and Lyrics: Davíð Sigurgeirsson)

Second Semi-Final - Saturday 26th January

  • Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir - Augnablik (CSveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson / Ingibjörg Gunnarsdóttir)
  • Unnur Eggertsdóttir - Ég Syng! (Elíza Newman / Gísli Kristjánsson / Ken Rose / Hulda G. Geirsdóttir)
  • Klara Ósk Elíasdóttir - Skuggamynd (Hallgrímur Óskarsson / Ashley Hicklin / Bragi Valdimar Skúlason)
  • Sylvía Erla Scheving - Stund Með þér (María Björk Sverrisdóttir)
  • Jógvan Hansen and Stefanía Svavarsdóttir - Til þín (Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson / Ágúst Ibsen)
  • Haraldur Reynisson - Vinátta (Haraldur Reynisson)

Source: RÚV, Eurovision.tv


Last modified on Thursday, 10 January 2013 23:54