October 23, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Wednesday, 16 January 2013 16:10

Denmark: DR Announces Ten Finalists

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Since the introduction of the semi-final system, Denmark has only failed to qualify on two occasions, those coming in 2004 with Thomas Thordarsson and his track Shame On You finishing in thirteenth place as well as in 2007 with Drama Queen performed by DQ only managing nineteenth place at the end of the evening. From 2008 onwards, their entries which have been dubbed on more than one occasion as a typical middle of the road type of genre have performed moderately well, with their appearances in 2010 and 2011 being the most significant noting fourth and fifth place finishes with the track In a Moment Like This by Chanée and N'evergreen as well as New Tomorrow by A Friend in London. Earlier today, DR announced the ten acts along with the entries that they will be performing as they aim to represent Denmark in the next Eurovision Song Contest which is taking place in the neighbouring country of Sweden.

Expectations have always been relatively high for Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest and despite their list of successes, it has to be noted that they only finished at the very top on two occasions, the first time in 1963 with 'Dansevise' performed by Grethe and Jørgen Ingmann and the second time being in 2000 when the Olsen Brothers sung their beautiful melody 'Fly on the Wings of Love'. The artists that have been selected bring about dance and pop and the main genres whilst English is also seemingly predominant. One will definitely focus on a couple of names in the list especially if history serves right of course with major nineties group known as Daze making a comeback to music alongside former Eurovision Song Contest representative Brinck who in his national final had beaten Simone Egeriis who is also back for another shot and is a favourite to triumph according to a poll conducted by the official website.

  1. Jeg har hele tiden vidst det - Frederikke Vedel (Georgi, Thomas & Jeppe Reil)
  2. Human - Brinck (Niels Brinck)
  3. I'm Not Alone - Kate Hall (Jensen, Larsson, Bell, Holter, Erixson, Hermansen)
  4. Rejs dig op - Louise Dubiel (Lindstad, Braager, Dubiel)
  5. We Own The Universe - Daze (G:Son, Boström)
  6. Stay Awake - Simone Egeriis (Jensen, Lindberg)
  7. Invincible - Jack Rowan ft. Sam Gray (Darwich, Rowan, Gray)
  8. Only Teardrops - Emmerlie de Forest (Cabble, Jakobsen, Stenggard)
  9. Beautiful to Me - Albin (Clausen, Haugaard)
  10. Unbreakable - Mohammed (Friss, Parsberg, Bjørnskov, Dissing)
You could listen to snippets of the ten finalists on the official website. DR had received a total of 692 submissions for this years' edition of the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix which will be taking place in the Boxen Arena in Herning but ultimately selected eight (8) entries from them to compete with another two (2) added later on during the proceedings as wildcards in an effort to make the field as diverse as possible. The voting will be the same as it has been in recent years with a professional jury and tele-voting each having a 50% stake in the choice of the top three finalists before each judge will allocate 1,2 and 3 points to the respective top three (3) choices whilst the tele-voting will have thirty (30) points in total which will be divulged through percentage. At the end of the evening, the winning entry will be performed once more. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for all of the latest news as soon as it becomes available.
Source: DR

Last modified on Wednesday, 16 January 2013 16:56