December 07, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Wednesday, 06 February 2013 15:42

Ireland: RTÉ Presents Eurosong 2013 Line-Up

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

RTÉ, the public broadcaster in Ireland and member of the European Broadcasting Union is a prominent figure at the esteemed Eurovision Song Contest, holding the record for most victories, currently tallying at seven. For the past two years, through multi-entry national selections, Jedward were selected as representatives with the tracks Lipstick and Waterline which both took the nation to the final instilling a sense of pride whilst garnering support from a younger demographic. The acts that will be taking part in this years' Eurosong have just been announced in an official press release with some amendments from the originally planned release.

Mairead Farrell, one of the members was looking forward to working with Melanie McCabe but a late withdrawal had to take place due to other commitments. Nevertheless, she managed to find an act as a replacement and is said to be quite happy with the choice. The others mentors to have been included in the selection process are songwriters; Niall Mooney and Shay Healy, both of whom have already been to the Eurovision Song Contest, as well as Stuart O'Connor known for his work as a choreography with Jedward and last but not least, a disc jockey by the name of Mark McCabe. The selections seem to include a rather fresh approach in a bid to keep the younger demographic intact.

  • Kiss Me There - Kasey (Drax)
  • Son Kez / The Last Time - Inchequin (Hugh O'Neill / Sinead Bradley)
  • Crashing Down - Aimée Fitzpatrick (Robert Grace)
  • Fire - Zoe Alexis Bohorquez (Niall Mooney / Lauren White / Willie Weeks)
  • One Love Survives - Ryan Dolan (Wez Devina / Ryan Dolan)

The five entries will be presented tomorrow afternoon on The Mooney Show which airs on  RTÉ Radio from 1pm to 3pm (Irish Time). The Eurosong 2013 selection taking place on The Late Late Show will air on Friday, 22nd February. The result will be decided through a mixture of tele-voting and jury voting. The winner in Ireland will be heading to the Eurovision Song Contest and hoping to continue the successful trend of the past three years and see the nation into the final. The task begins within the second part of the first semi-final. Stay tuned to for all of the latest news.

Source: RTÉ

Last modified on Wednesday, 06 February 2013 15:46