October 18, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Monday, 20 January 2014 14:15

ESC 2014: Countries Allocated in Two Semi-Finals

Rate this item
(4 votes)

Just a couple of minutes ago, the city of Copenhagen in Denmark was hosting the first in a series of events in relation to the upcoming edition of the Eurovision Song Contest with the semi-final allocation draw taking place in front of several journalists, under the superivision of Danmarks Radio, the European Broadcasting Union and Digame. Some broadcasters asked to be allocated in specific semi-finals due to scheduling conflicts or special circumstances, some of which would have included non-participation due to national holidays and so forth but otherwise, everything went smoothly.

Tine Gøtsche and Ulla Essendrop, the hosts of the allocation draw made sure to explain everything in a manner which everyone could understand, kicking off proceedings with the allocation of where the direct finalists will be voting, those being the BIG FIVE (5) and Denmark, as host country and then moving onto those which had made special requests, and ultimately the remaining set of nations. As one could denote the above image, the countries in the respective semi-finals have created two spectacles, which will most likely yield very interesting results, based on the actual songs.

Malta has been drawn in the first half of the second semi-final, with countries which are somewhat susceptible to send up-tempo entries to the Eurovision Song Contest. At this point in time, the Mediterranean nation, set to host the Malta Eurovision Song Contest in the beginning of February might still decide on mixing it up and sending a ballad rather than an up-tempo track, with the hope of standing out. It is worth noting that last years’ track Tomorrow had been singled out as a genre and finished in a highly respectable eighth place. 

The BIG FIVE countries voting in the same semi-final as Malta are; Germany, Italy and the United Kingdom whilst France, Spain and host country, Denmark will vote in semi-final 1. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for all of the latest news from the 2014 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest which is set to take place in Copenhagen, Denmark on the 6th, 8th and 10th May respectively. The European Broadcasting Union is collaborating with Danmarks Radio on the illustrious music competition which is turning 59 this year.

Source: eurovision.tv


Last modified on Tuesday, 21 January 2014 13:46