February 19, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

L-Għanja tal-Poplu is considered to be one of the most renowned local competitions. It is one of the very few that promotes our national songwriters to the full and it also makes it an important point that our mother language, Maltese, could be sung in a music competition. In 2015, the showcase is set to take place on the 21st of March. After analysing the regulations, it can be said that there were no major amendments to the rules and regulations of the festival.

Earlier this year, the competition was won by a relative newcomer, Karen DeBattista, with the song "Jien Ma Naħdimx", composed by Mark Scicluna to the lyrics of Rita Pace. It garnered national acclaim, having been discussed on several talk-shows, over the notoriety of the lyrical prowess which it possessed. Since then, Karen DeBattista has been through to the final of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest with the song "12, Baker Street", composed by Jan Van Dijck to the lyrics of Emil Calleja Bayliss.

Frank O'Neill, Christabelle Curmi and Il-Lajks were the first runners-up with the song "Kif Xrobbtuli l-Menti" written by Frank O'Neill himself, leaving Miriam Christine and Olivia Lewis in third place with "Wara l-Kanċell" co-written by Miriam Christine and Joe Julian Farrugia. In order to obtain a copy of the whole regulations they can be found on the official website of L-Għanja tal-Poplu. We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about the local music scene.

Source: L-Għanja tal-Poplu


Published in L-Għanja Tal-Poplu

L-Għanja tal-Poplu, a local music competition which differs from the International Festival of Maltese Song and the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza for the simple reason that it promotes the singer/songwriter along with the use of traditional forms of music whilst also giving prime importance to the lyrics. The event, slated for the 15th March 2014 was officially unveiled to the general public and the media during a gathering held at the Manoel Theatre. There was one main change in the regulations, one which will see songwriters having no limit to the amount of songs they could have in the final stages.

Sir Temi Żammit Hall, the venue which has played host to recent editions of L-Għanja tal-Poplu saw to the success of Cherise Attard with her song Hawn Siġġu Nieqes composed by Mark Spiteri Lucas to the lyrics of Paul Ellul with the first runner-up being Dorothy Muscat with the track Signor Si composed by Sammy Galea to the lyrics of Joe Julian Farrugia and the second runner-up being Rita Pace with her self-composed entry Pupazz, penned by Emil Calleja Bayliss.

Another innovative element incorporated in the results is a cash prize which is set to be given to the first, second and third place finishers. As has been the case in recent years, the competition will be aired both on radio and television. escflashmalta.com is proud to support the event, and moreover to support a local music competition which aims to promote Maltese as a national language and one which could also show diversity in the art of music. In order to download a copy of the rules and regulations for the 38th edition of L-Għanja tal-Poplu taking place on the 14th March 2014 at the Sir Temi Żammit Hall, please visit the official website of the competition. Stay tuned for all of the latest news.

Source: L-Għanja tal-Poplu


Published in L-Għanja Tal-Poplu