January 26, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

In previous years, the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza was a hub for newfound talent, with the winning circle going onto achieve more success in the near future. This was not the case in recent years with established acts and former Eurovision Song Contest representatives; Mike Spiteri and Fabrizio Faniello amongst the last four acts to have won the local music competition.

In 2014 though, it seems that originality and talent played a major role in the jury choice with two of the three artists to rank in the top three, making their official debut in the 'Talent Stabbilit' portion of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza. Earlier this morning, the Official Facebook Page of the prestigious music competition made the full ranking along with the points given, public. The jury comprised of; Manuel Aquilina, Steve Aquilina, Ivan Borg, Amber and Mike Spiteri.

1. Mixja Li Bdiet - Michela Galea (Renato Briffa / Alfred E Baldacchino) - 426 points

2. Ġabuna Indipendenti - Marilena (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop) - 369 points

3. Ħolma ta' Nazzjon - Cherylis Camilleri (Mark Debono / Rita Pace) - 362 points

4. Ħamsin Sena Nazzjon - Kaya & Nicole Brincat (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Paul Ellul) - 357 points

5. Mara - Domenique (Philip Vella / Paul Ellul) - 355 points

6. Stmerrejtek Ħabbejtek - Marie Claire (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss) - 327 points

7. Inservi - Kurt Cassar (Gillian Attard / Elton Zarb / Emil Calleja Bayliss) - 297 points

8. Kuntenta Kif Jien - Ann Marie Ellul (Rita Pace) - 295 points

9. Nemmen fil-Futur - Mattei Curmi (Philip Vella / Cher Vella) - 294 points

10. Nisġa - Josepha Cumbo (Minik / Emil Calleja Bayliss) - 277 points

11. Aħjar - Simone Gauci (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Rita Pace) - 277 points

12. Tħobbni Kif Jien - Phylisienne (Philip Vella / Chris Azzopardi) - 265 points

13. Naħfirlek - Franz Bezzina (Augusto Cardinali) - 261 points

14. Fuq dil-Blata - Roseann Cordina (Minik / Paul Ellul) - 260 points

15. Destin - Danica Muscat (Philip Vella) - 258 points

16. Tfajla - Donna (Ray Agius / Paul Ellul) - 252 points

17. Hemm Int - Valentina Farrugia (Roger Tirazona / Joe J Farrugia) - 245 points

18. Daqs Xulxin - Charlene Cardona (Minik / Joe Chircop) - 243 points

19. Ġrajjiet - Michela Dalli (Minik / Stephen Baldacchino) - 234 points

20. Passaġġ - Kurt Galea (Clinton Paul) - 235 points

21. Int u Jien - Maria Cassar (Minik / Rita Pace) - 216 points

22. Ibqa' Ħdejja - Ina Robinich (Minik / Deo Grech) - 193 points

23. Ngħidulek Grazzi - Christian Azzopardi (Minik / Stephen Baldacchino) - 184 points

Michela Galea, one of the youngest participants in this year's edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza joins a prestigious list of previous winners, some of which made the transition into the local music scene relatively quickly after their success. The most recent being none other than Amber, a four time participant in the Malta Eurovision Song Contest and also backing vocalist of "This Is The Night" at the 2012 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The winning entry of the public vote last night was "Tħobbni Kif Jien" composed by Philip Vella to the lyrics of Christopher Azzopardi whilst the triumphant act from the upcoming category was Kurt Cassar and his entry "Inservi" composed by Gillian Attard and Elton Zarb to the lyrics of Emil Calleja Bayliss. We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news from the local music scene.

Source: Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza (Official Facebook Page)


Thursday, 11 September 2014 19:44

KKI 2014: Finalists Made Public on NET Television

Earlier this evening, Media.Link Communications and NET Television revealed the names of the finalists in this year's edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza. 23 acts will be competing for the main trophy, although a separate trophy will be given to both the winner of the public vote as well as the "Talent Ġdid". The event set to take place on the 18th September on the Granaries in Floriana with Marbeck Spiteri appointed as hostess.

This year, the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza is under a major spotlight, noting that Malta is celebrating 50 years of Independence, hence giving the spectacle more of a spark. It will be just one event in a series of festivities held at the Granaries in Floriana. The general public got to listen to the entries through Indifest on NET Television every Thursday as well as viral website, YouTube where preview videos had been updated.

Destin - Danica Muscat (Philip Vella)

Hemm Int - Valentina Farrugia (Roger Tirazona / Joe Julian Farrugia)

Ibqa' Ħdejja - Ina Robinich (Minik / Deo Grech)

Ngħidulek Grazzi - Christian Azzopardi (Minik / Stephen Baldacchino)

Ħolma ta' Nazzjon - Cherylis Camilleri (Mark Debono / Rita Pace)

Nemmen fil-Futur - Mattei Curmi (Philip Vella / Cher Vella)

Ħamsin Sena Nazzjon - Kaya & Nicole Brincat (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Paul Ellul)

Stmerrejtek Ħabbejtek - Marie Claire (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss)

Fuq Dil-Blata - Roseann Cordina (Minik / Paul Ellul)

Ġrajjiet - Michela Dalli (Minik / Stephen Baldacchino)

Daqs Xulxin - Charlene Cardona (Minik / Joe Chircop)

Mixja li Bdiet - Michela Galea (Renato Briffa / Alfred Baldacchino)

Nisġa - Josepha Cumbo (Minik / Emil Calleja Bayliss)

Aħjar - Simone Gauci (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Rita Pace)

Naħfirlek - Franz Bezzina (Augusto Cardinali)

Inservi - Kurt Cassar (Elton Zarb / Gillian Attard / Emil Calleja Bayliss)

Mara - Domenique (Philip Vella / Paul Ellul)

Int u Jien - Maria Cassar (Minik / Rita Pace)

Ġabuna Indipendenti - Marilena Gauci (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop)

Tfajla - Donna (Ray Agius / Paul Ellul)

Passaġġ - Kurt Galea (Clinton Paul)

Kuntenta Kif Jien - Ann Marie Ellul (Rita Pace)

Tħobbni Kif Jien - Phylisienne Brincat (Philip Vella / Christopher Azzopardi)

The 23 entries chosen to compete in this year's edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza were selected through a mixture of tele-voting, amounting to 40% of the final result as well as a professional jury, amounting to 60% of the final result. The professional panel of judges comprised of; Frederick Zammit, Lorenzo Brincat, Josephine Ebejer Grech, Corazon Mizzi and Karl Gouder. escflashmalta.com will be on hand during the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza, and thus we urge you to stay tuned to the main portal as well as our social media pages on Facebook & Twitter.

Source: NET Television