September 22, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

Only Love Survives, sung by Ryan Dolan on behalf of Ireland could only muster up five points in the final and therefore finished at the bottom of the scoreboard, a fate which they had already succumbed to back in 2007 with They Can't Stop the Spring performed by Dervish. RTÉ, the broadcaster responsible for the participation have pledged that they will be present next year due to the successful ratings back home as well as a successful history which includes seven victories, the last of which coming back in 1996. 

Paddy Power, the Irish website for all sports and event betting odds have already published a long list of possible participants on behalf of the nation in 2014. This time last year, it was Leanne Moore who was the principle favourite and whilst she is on the list, she is only seventh this time round. Moore had won You're A Star a couple of years back and has been one of the female backing vocalists during the Irish performance for three straight years.It seems that a male performer is being seen as the next representative noting that all of the names with sterling odds are male. 

Keith Hanley is the odds on favourite with odds at 9/2 but he is closely followed by Shane Filan at 7/1 respectively. Hanley is the winner of the second season of The Voice and thus has a recording contract with Universal Music Ireland whilst Filan was the lead vocalist behind the group, Westlife. It will be interesting to see whether high profile names will be interested in representing Ireland although one of the former members of Westlife, Nicky did read out the votes on the night. Stay tuned to for all of the latest news.

Source: Paddy Power

Monday, 11 February 2013 18:05

Ireland: Major Stars Lending their Support

The 2013 edition of the Late Late Show Eurosong special will be taking place on Friday, 22nd February 2013 and will be hosted by Ryan Turbidy on RTE 1. This has been the setting for the national final for the past couple of years, excluding the 2008 process which took place in a more formal environment hosted within The Helix, which nows plays as the venue for The Voice of Ireland. John and Edwards, more commonly known as Jedward have represented Ireland for the past two years, with Lipstick and Waterline, qualifying to the final and achieving an eighth and twentieth place respectively. The profile of the competition in Ireland is on the rise and major stars in the industry have already started to voice their support from the competing artists.

British X Factor Judge, Louis Walsh who is the manager of Ronan Keating and Boyzone whilst having headed the careers of Girls Aloud, Samantha Mumba and Westlife, has publicly gone onto support Kasey with the track Kiss Me There. This is not a total surprise considering that Kasey was one of the vocalists in the band Wonderland managed by the aforementioned Louis Walsh in unison with Kian Egan, former member of Westlife who is now a mentor of The Voice of Ireland. In the past two years, Louis Walsh, manager of the group Jedward was very much outspoken about the Eurovision Song Contest and it is quite intriguing to see that his involvement from the days of Johnny Logan and Linda Martin hasn't really dwindled.

Michelle Heaton, one of the performers within the successful British group, Liberty X has also spoken out about the Irish Eurosong special, in favour of none other than Zoe Alexis Bohorquez who will be taking part with the track Fire co-written between Niall Mooney, Lauren White and Willie Weeks. The song, which is being said to be one of the favourites has attracted the support of the star, as she currently participants in the show known as The Big Reunion airing on ITV2 where the nineties girlbands and boybands have come together for another hurrah so to speak. With experienced, Niall Mooney behind her, Zoe might be a shoe in for the position, and people will be able to buy the song on iTunes soon enough. Stay tuned to for all the latest.

Source: Eurovision Ireland

The Irish music industry has never been demeaning in any manner and therefore, it has well reflected at the Eurovision Song Contest on several occasions noting that their past three entries being It's For You by Niamh Kavanagh in 2010, Lipstick and Waterline by Jedward in 2011 and 2012 respectively saw them make it through to the final and in one particular instance, even reach the top ten for the very first since since Every Song is a Cry for Love was performed by Brian Kennedy on behalf of The Emerald Isle in 2006. Several names are being rumoured at the moment with the mentor system still in place and in recent days, one of the artists who seems to have been contacted was none other than Shane Filan, the lead performer of the recently disbanded Westlife whom many will recall to have released ten studio albums and two compilations.

The popular group was signed to Syco Music for a relatively long period of time under the management of Simon Cowell, the mastermind behind the X Factor and Got Talent franchises as well as Louis Walsh who is a judge on the British Version of the X Factor and has worked with the likes of Boyzone, Girls Aloud, Jedward and Mary Byrne. In fact, the same Walsh pushed Jedward into doing the Eurovision Song Contest having mentored acts such as Johnny Logan and Linda Martin who scored victories at the renowned showcase in 1980, 1987 and 1992 respectively. Nevertheless, Shane Filan who is currently at 9/2 on a leading betting website known as Paddy Power had publicly declined his participation through social networking website; Twitter by virtue of stating 'guys the rumours today about me representing Ireland at the Eurovision are not true .. best of luck to whoever does'. This has been an intriguing tactic noting that Pastora Soler declined her participation this year when asked whether she would be representing Spain as did Anouk when asked whether she would represent The Netherlands next year. Stay tuned to for all of the latest news.

Source: Shane Filan Twitter