January 28, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

Making a surprise return for 2018, Malta’s national selection this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest also includes the addition of original songs - for the first time in eight years. Budding artists aged between 8 and 14 from the island were invited to submit their original compositions earlier in the summer, whilst PBS enlisted the help of an expert jury to shortlist sixteen of them for a live show.

The national selection will take to our screens this Saturday (8th September) at 16:30 on TVM and TVM HD, live from the Where’s Everybody’s studios in Qormi. The host will be local TV presenter and actress, Taryn Mamo Cefai. PBS has released all of the finalists’ songs on their website, for listening before the show. Below you can see the full list of artists taking part in the competition - click their names to read more about them and hear their song.


01. Luana Schembri - "No Rest For The Wicked" (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Philip Vella, Luana Schembri)
02. Giorgia Borg - "10" (Muxu, Gillian Camenzuli Kerr)
03. Zaira Mifsud - "Shout Now" (Muxu, Cyprian Cassar)
04. Jahel Cardona - "Home" (Muxu, Cyprian Cassar)
05. Katryna & Rihana - "The Puppet and the Clown" (Christopher Azzopardi, Kaya, Katryna Borg, Rihana Azzopardi)
06. Isaac Tom - "Bonfire Nights" (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Dario Bezzina, Isaac Tom Spiteri)
07. Albert-Lauren - "Paper Boats" (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Cyprian Cassar, Albert-Lauren Agius)
08. Kristy Spiteri - "NANN" (Ritienne Frendo, Cyprian Cassar & Mark Scicluna)
09. Yarin Coleiro - "Can You Be the One" (Muxu, Cyprian Cassar)
10. Lora Grech - "Finish Line" (Muxu, Elton Zarb)
11. Riona Degiorgio - "Infinity" (Muxu, Dominic Cini)
12. Kylie Meilak - "Crystals" (Muxu, Elton Zarb)
13. Eliana Gomez Blanco - "Music Takes Control" (Muxu, Cyprian Cassar)
14. Aiden Aquilina Cohen - "Wherever You Go" (Muxu, Cyprian Cassar)
15. Ela Mangion - "Marchin’ on" (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Cyprian Cassar, Ela Mangion)
16. Thea Aquilina - "Back To My Freedom" (Bruce Robert Francis Smith, Ylva Persson, Linda Persson, Rickard Bondel Truumeel)

The outcome of the Malta Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be decided by a public televote and an expert jury, each having an equal say in the result. The public can vote once all of the songs have been performed, by calling the number 523021XX (the last two numbers being the songs’ number in the running order). Only one vote from each line will be registered. The winner will fly to the capital of Minsk, Belarus, to represent the country in the international final of the competition on November 25th - competing against 19 other countries in the biggest edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest yet.

In last year’s event, Malta was represented by Gianluca Cilia with the song “Dawra Tond” - composed by Dominic Cini and penned by Emil Calleja Bayliss. The 10 year old placed in 9th position overall, whilst obtaining 2nd place in the public vote. We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about the 2018 Malta Junior Eurovision Song Contest, and subsequent Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018. He will also perform as a special guest during the show, after all of the sixteen competing songs have been performed.

Source: ESCflashmalta.com, Public Broadcasting Services, BTRC (Image)

30 semi-finalist participants, shortlisted by a panel of ‘expert judges’ on CD, were put under a #live test in front of a second panel of professional ‘expert judges’, and the final verdict was released earlier on Tuesday 5th December with a total of 17 songs put forward to the festival, L-Għanja tal-Poplu Żgħażagħ 2018. Back after a decade long hiatus, the competition drew a lot of support when first announced and it seems that the demand and interest is rather high.

Organised by the L-Għanja tal-Poplu Committee in collaboration with St Benedict College in Kirkop, the Ministry of Education, L-Akkademja tal-Malti as well as the Malta Concert Orchestra, L-Għanja tal-Poplu Żgħażagħ saw Brooke, Marilena and Christabelle make a name for themselves by virtue of finding the right message to share back in 2005, 2006, and 2007 respectively. The next winner will come from the following list of 17 participating entries.

Bradley Debono - Bla Isem, Bla Kunjom (Paul Ellul, Marco Debono)

Eliana & Aidan Jay - Dwell (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Dario Bezzina)

Thea Gauci - Għerf il-Baħar (Rita Pace, Geordie Debono)

Thea Gauci - Ħmistax (Ingrid Vella, Mark Spiteri Lucas)

Riona Degiorgio - Il-Ħolma (Ray Mahoney, Dominic Cini)

Charisse Ann Vassallo - Il-Verita' (Ivan Debattista, Mark Spiteri Lucas)

Thea Aquilina - Kieku Nista’ (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Cyprian Cassar)

Eliana Gomez Blanco - Kliem (Ingrid Vella, Philip Vella)

Rachel Lowell - Li Tiżra’ Taħsad (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Philip Vella)

Martina Galea Loffreda - Ma Nafx Għala (Joe Julian Farrugia, Augusto Cardinali)

Luana Schembri - Manikin (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Andrew Zahra)

Elisa Muscat - Sib Ħin (Rita Pace, Priscilla Psaila)

Kira Copperstone - Skont id-Daqqa Iż-Żifna (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Mark Spiteri Lucas)

Nathan Psaila - Stennejtek (Manuel Chircop, Dominic Cini)

Emma Cutajar - Ta’ Rasi (Emil Calleja Bayliss, Priscilla Psaila)

Ilenia Camilleri - Triq Oħra (Rita Pace, Philip Vella)

Jahel Cardona - Weġibni Ma’ (Rita Pace, Marco Debono)

The festival is set for Friday 2nd March 2018 at the theatre of St Benedict College in Kirkop. On behalf of the editorial team at escflashmalta.com, we would like to wish all the performers, and the respective songwriters of the 17 finalists the very best of luck. We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about L-Għanja tal-Poplu Żgħażagħ and the local music industry when it becomes available.

Source: ghanjafest.com

Published in L-Għanja Tal-Poplu