February 17, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

Gaia Cauchi, Malta's representative at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest with the track The Start which she helped co-write with Elton Zarb, Matt Mercieca and Gillian Attard will be undergoing the final rehearsal prior to the competition tomorrow evening whilst the programme, Xarabank produced by WE Media reveals the names of the twenty (20) semi-finalists in next years' edition of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest. This rehearsal in particular will be relatively pivotal when denoting that it will count for half of the scores that will be given during the showcase tomorrow evening.

Attention turns to Malta though as seventy (70) entries will be shortlisted by fifty (50) with the semi-final list set to incorporate twenty (20) artists, whether soloists or groups. There are several intriguing names which have garnered entry into the second phase, amongst them former Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest representatives. One should always keep in mind former finalists of the selection procedure and artists who have been successful on local radio stations and are aiming for a larger music market. For anyone who has followed the announced in the past two years, a snippet of each of the semi-finalists will be played for the artists to recognise the track. Moments after, the singer is asked to go on stage and perform a one minute clip.

Some Kind of Wonderful - Wayne William (Wayne Micallef)

City Lady - Ryan Paul Abela (Paul Abela / Joe Julian Farrugia)

Brand New Day - Davinia (Elton Zarb / Matt Mercieca)

Let The Sunshine In - Sophie (Sophie DeBattista / Adam Pakard / Alex Dew)

Hypnotica - Jessika (Philip Vella / Gerard James Borg)

Invisible - Raquel Galdes (Philip Vella / Gerard James Borg)

One Last Ride - Daniel Testa (Stephen Rudden / Lawrence Peter Bridge)

Pin The Middle - Debbie Stivala (Peter Paul Galea / Debbie Stivala)

Oblivion - Chris Grech (Philip Vella / Gerard James Borg)

Until We Meet Again - Deborah C (Elton Zarb / Matt Mercieca)

Because I Have You - Amber (Paul Giordimaina / Fleur Balzan)

Lovetricity - Christabelle (Magnus Kaxe / Gerard James Borg)

Coming Home - Firelight (Richard Micallef)

Safe - Miriam Christine (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss)

Addictive - Romina Mamo (Ylva / Linda Persson)

Now and Forever - Andreana (Vinny Vella / Karl Spiteri)

Love Will Take Me Home - Franklin (Glen / Beatrice Eriksson / M Frenell / Michael J Down)

Ten - Corazon (Paul Giordimaina / Fleur Balzan)

Take Me - Pamela (Boris Cezek)

Just No Place Like Home - Fabrizio Faniello (Johan Bejerholm)

Following the revelation of the twenty (20) semi-finalists, one could easily denote some a mixture of upcoming and established artists, all of which are gunning to represent Malta at the Eurovision Song Contest taking place in Copenhagen, Denmark. On the other hand, some other names missing from the competition are those of Eleanor Cassar, Natalie Gauci, Dorothy Bezzina, Kaya and Domenique. A detailed analysis of the twenty (20) semi-finalists will take place by the end of the weekend. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for all the latest news.