January 19, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

In the aftermath of “L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija”, the attention of the local music scene quickly turns to the “Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza”, another music competition which features original songs in Maltese, capping a successful series of months for our national language.

This year’s edition of the “Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza” will be returning back to it’s home-base on The Granaries in Floriana, noting that 12 months ago, the festival was staged at Pjazza Teatru Rjal in Valletta, something of a rare occasion.

23 entries will be sung on stage, but prior to that, there are still some eliminatory phases which need to be held, first starting off with the “Talent Żgħażugħ” category from which 3 songs will be chosen through a mixture of tele-voting (40%) and expert jury voting (60%). Those competing are as follows:

01. “Illum” (Dominic Cini / Rita Pace) – Sarah Camilleri (5230 2090)

02. “Vittoja” (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Shaun Zaffarese (5230 2091)

03. “Kantali Waħda” (Marco Debono / Rita Pace) – Matthias Brancaleone (5230 2092)

04. “Pittura” (Mark Scicluna / Rita Pace) – Cynthia Zaffarese (5230 2093)

05. “Tama” (Dominic Cini / Alison Ellul) – Christabelle Cuschieri (5230 2094)

06. “Sebħ Ġdid” (Andrew Zahra / Clifton Casha) – Roberta Sacco (5230 2095)

07. “Bejn Ħalltejn” (Kaya / Dorian Psaila / Clifton Casha) – Kylie Grixti (5230 2096)

08. “Ritmu” (Augusto Cardinali / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Josuel Grech (5230 2097)

09. “Jien Min Jien” (Andrew Zahra / Rita Pace) – Sherona Debono (5230 2098)

10. “Mhux Bħal Darí” (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Charlene Mercieca Magro (5230 2099)

3 songs have also been shortlisted with the “Talent Stabbilit” category yet will be requiring the full support of the public at home, noting that during the second phase of the competition these songs originally ranked between 21st and 23rd. Those competing are as follows:

01. Speċjali (Renato Briffa / Rita Pace) – Aidan Cassar (5230 2051)

02. Jien Lilek Irrid (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Rita Pace) – Jillianne Camilleri (5230 2052)

03. Xemx fiż-Żerniq (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Janice Mangion (5230 2053)

The rest of the field, therefore 20 in total features acts who have taken part in other national competitions such as the “Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza”, “L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija”, “Malta Eurovision Song Contest”, “Junior Eurovision Song Contest” and also “Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza Jr”. Those competing are as follows:

01. “Se Naslu Żgur” (Ray Agius) – Dario Bezzina (5230 2070)

02. “Omm tal-Maltin” (Philip Vella / Rita Pace) – Dorcas Debono (5230 2071)

03. “Fjura Li Ntfiet” (Dominic Cini / Hector Bruno) – Laura Bruno (5230 2072)

04. “Fis-Sagristija” (Dario Bezzina) – Grecia Bezzina (5230 2073)

05. “M’Hawnx Isbaħ” (Philip Vella / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Danica Muscat (5230 2074)

06. “Inħobbok Kif Int” (Mark Scicluna) – Dominic & Ina (5230 2075)

07. “Wasal Iż-Żmien” (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) – Neville Refalo (5230 2076)

08. “Bit-Tikketta” (Marco Debono / Rita Pace) – Dwett (5230 2077)

09. “B’Ħarsitna ‘l Fuq” (Mark Spiteri lucas / Joe Chircop) – Kaya (5230 2078)

10. “Fakkarni” (Marco Debono / Deo Grech) – Domenique (5230 2079)

11. “Bla Firdiet” (Dominic Cini / Joe Julian Farrugia) – Sebastian Calleja (5230 2080)

12. “Sliem Għalikom” (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) – Clive Muscat (5230 2081)

13. “Ġenn” (Clinton Paul / Clifton Casha) – Kurt Galea (5230 2082)

14. “Aċċettajt” (Pamela Bezzina / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Joseph Refalo (5230 2083)

15. “Ippruvajt” (Dominic Cini / Rita Pace) – Odessa Ann Green (5230 2084)

16. “Ħarstek” (Mark Scicluna / Mark Amaira) – Karen DeBattista (5230 2085)

17. “Aħwa Maltin, Aħwa Għawdxin” (Kaya / Dorian Psaila) – K4 (5230 2086)

18. “Riħ Mil-Punent” (Mark Scicluna / Clifton Casha) – Jessica Magro (5230 2087)

19. “Pass Pass” (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Emil Calleja Bayliss) – Sarah Bonnici (5230 2088)

20. “Saltna Fis-Sliem” (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) – Amulet (5230 2089)

On the right hand side to each competing entry, there is a number which duly corresponds to the televoting portion of the competition. In the “Talent Stabbilit”, the televoting winner is handed out as a seperate award, but the other sections have different rules and regulations as stated above. This year’s “Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza” will be taking place on Monday 19th September, and is organised under the auspices of Media.Link Communications. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news.

Source: NET Television


'The Celebrity Night' is the new Saturday night show which will be broadcast at 20:30 on F Living Channel. The series revolves around the one-to-one witty and entertaining interviews which have become synonymous with Deo Grech’s presenting style.

Tonight's special guests are the singer-songwriter, lawyer and television host Dr Corazon; the singer-songwriter, actress and teacher Jessika and the dancer, actress and teacher Sarah Camilleri. Fiona Vella from Fiona Couture Malta and Natius Farrugia join in the second part of the show for the Celebrity Discussion.


How did Corazon react when she found herself amidst a recent controversy regarding her post as a television post? How did Shakira inspire Jessika? And why did Sarah Camilleri feel so emotional when questioned about her passion for animals? And what will the celebrities discuss during the second part of tonight's show?

This and much more during the first show of the series 'The Celebrity Night' tonight at 20:30 on F Living Channel. We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about the local music scene.

Source: F Living, Press Release


Published in Local Music News