January 28, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

L-Għanja tal-Poplu committee invites authors, composers, musical groups and singer-songwriters to participate in the 43rd edition of L-Għanja tal-Poplu – Festival tal-Kanzunetta Maltija, a festival of original songs in Maltese. Applications for this festival will be received on Tuesday 21st May 2019.

Authors and composers are encouraged to feel free to write songs which express their emotions, aspirations and experiences and use the style of music they prefer, and not necessarily limit themselves to songs with a social theme. A new prize for originality has been introduced to encourage creativity. This festival gives the same importance to lyrics and music.

The festival final will be held on Saturday 31st August 2019, at Pjazza Teatru Rjal, where the participants can either be accompanied by the Malta Concert Orchestra, or accompany their own songs. The organising committee encourages Maltese artists to create an enjoyable festival.

More details can be found in the regulations and the application form can be downloaded from ghanjafest.com. In this document, one will find a number of changes which have been introduced year-on-year: such as the fact that no one participant could have more than one song in the final, with an added feature that should a second song of the same artist get through, it will be given to a different artist as per the songwriters’ wishes; together with the fact that each songwriters’ name may only appear twice in the final.

Last years’ winning song was ‘Mhux Kulma Jleqq Deheb’ penned by Emil Calleja Bayliss and composed by Renato Briffa with vocals provided by Michela Galea.

This festival is being organised by L-Għanja tal-Poplu together with Pjazza Teatru Rjal and with the collaboration of L-Akkademja tal-Malti. L-Għanja tal-Poplu is supported by Arts Council Malta – Cultural Partnership Agreement. We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about the local music scene.

Source: ghanjafest.com

Published in L-Għanja Tal-Poplu

L-Għanja tal-Poplu is one of the most prestigious competitions in the local music calendar, supporting talented artists and songwriters in their aim to get the national language across through the medium of music. The competition first took place in 1973, and took place every year until 1987 followed by a couple of years in the dark prior to an even stronger return in 1990. As a matter of fact, since then, the showcase has only not been held twice and escflashmalta.com is proud to denote the element of support for the past couple of years noting the festival has been regaining strength and composure. The finalists for this years' edition of the competition have just been revealed by the organising committee along with their respective entries and songwriters.

Working closely with the committee of the L-Għanja tal-Poplu competition, we can officially reveal that this years' submissions proved to be much more stronger in quality than last year and quite a number of participants put their name forward including artists who have managed to make it through to the Malta Eurovision Song Contest in recent years. Nevertheless, the list of 19 entries which could be seen below features a mixture of upcoming and established artists who will have to prove their credentials in the industry with a totally live performance, being the only competition to host live music in Malta at the moment. There are a number of returning musicians within the competition and that proves an element of continuity, something which the committee seems to favour.

  • Anġli Bla Gwenħajn - Romina Mamo (Deo Grech, Heathcliff Balzan)
  • Bikja Mid-Deżert - Leanne Attard (Sylvia Caruana, Dario Bezzina)
  • Bit-Tof... Ma Tofx...? - Ta' Verna (Ġorġ Bonello, Rita Pace)
  • Għal Dejjem - Marie Claire Attard Bason (Mark Scicluna, Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Grajja ta' Kull Żmien - Corinne Caruana (Christopher Azzopardi, Maria Azzopardi)
  • Hawn Siġġu Nieqes - Cherise Attard (Paul Ellul, Mark Spiteri Lucas)
  • Ibni - Teddie Zammit (Paul Attard, Teddie Zammit)
  • Id-Dar Għal Bejgħ - Charles Dalli (Charles Dalli )
  • Il-Gwardjan - Indri Attard (Kevin Tanti, Chan Vella)
  • Il-Maltin Bil-Politka Mehdijin - Justin Galea (Keith Muscat, Sylvan Borg)
  • Is-Sajjied Tax-Xatt Tax-Xlokk - Alwyn Borg Myatt (Alwyn Borg Myatt, Conrad Briffa)
  • Kuluri, Lwien - Charles Dalli (Charles Dalli)
  • L-Istorja Tagħna - Corazon (Corazon Mizzi)
  • Nammetti Li Ma Naf Xejn - Mistura (Antonio Olivari)
  • Pupazz - Rita Pace (Rita Pace, Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Signor Si - Dorothy Muscat (Joe Julian Farrugia, Sammy Galea)
  • Taħnina - Fiona Camilleri (Robert Carbonaro)
  • Tinsinix - Maria Debono (Rita Pace)
  • Virtwali - Estelle Fenech Imbroll (Paul Attard, Mark Scicluna)
There are a number of returning musicians within the competition and that proves an element of continuity, something which the committee seems to favour. This years' Għanja tal-Poplu competition is taking place on the 20th April 2013 at the Sir Temi Żammit Ħall within the University of Malta. escflashmalta.com is a proud media collaborator on this event and will thus bring you all of the latest news as soon as it becomes available. We are extremely looking forward to hearing the tracks that are competing this time round and indeed hope that the right track eventually emerges. Last years' winners were of course the group Kultural with the song Malta Tiegħi, followed by Grecia Bezzina with the song Tal-Komma Twila and in third place was the group Kantilena with the track Baħħar. Stay tuned for all of the latest news as soon as it is available.
Published in Local Music News