December 15, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Tuesday, 24 May 2011 22:04

Breaking News: KKI 2011 Finalists Announced

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Earlier this evening, the second phase of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza came to an end after a two day session which took place last Saturday 21st and Tuesday 24th May. One could easily note that the list includes quite a variety of artists whose background definitely precedes them. The jury that selected the songs within the live phase of the competition were none other than; Deborah Borg Brincat, lead singer of Bletchley Park; Rebekah Grima, who is a Television Producer; Ian Scerri, a music critic and judge at the Malta Music Awards as well as Christian Azzopardi; Radio 101 Disc Jockey. The judging procedure was also attended by Horace J Anastasi, the President of UKAM.

Established Talent

Agħtini Idejk – Anna Azzopardi (Renato Briffa /Alfred E Baldacchino)
B’Rieda tal-Azzar – Mike Spiteri (Ray Agius)
Dil-Qalb Kbira – Marilena Gauci (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop)
Eternità – Janice Mangion (Mark Scicluna / Rita Pace)
Fjamma – Deborah C (Philip Vella / Gerard James Borg)
Għad Fadal Għada – Silent Shout (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri)
Ħajjitna – Klinsmann Coleiro (Paul Abela / Joe Chircop)
Ħajt tal-Kenn – Neville Refalo (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop)
Int Biss – Valentina Farrugia (Paul Abela / Joe Julian Farrugia)
Int tkun hemm – Norbert Bondin (Philip Vella)
Ir-Ruħ tat-Tejatru – Audrey Marie (Rita Pace / Deo Grech)
Kien Ftit Wisq –Marilena Farrugia (Elton Zarb / Ally)
Kif Nista? – Ana-Maria Grima (Philip Vella)
Kliem Li M’Għedtlek – Danica Muscat (Mark Debono / Christopher Azzopardi)
Kollox Mill-Qalb – Tiziana Calleja (John David Zammit / Paul Callus)
Kuraġġ – Rita Pace (Rita Pace)
Liberi – Nadine, Luisana & Charlotte (Philip Vella)
Meta Jikkalma L-Mewġ – Mark Tonna (Augusto Cardinali / Giovann Attard)
Malta Ġrajjietha – Nadine & Fiona (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri)
Skont Id-Daqqa Iż-Żifna – Albertine u l-Qamħa (Dominic Cini / Giovann Attard)

The team behind the song 'Mal-Erbat Irjieħ' have thought it would be best to withdraw the song and let in another entry fill up it's position. Therefore the first song in Reserve moves into the 2011 Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza. The song entitled 'Meta Jikkalma L-Mewġ' sung by Mark Tonna is composed by Augusto Cardinali and penned by Giovann Attard. In the meantime, the song which was set to be performed by Danica Muscat entitled 'Int Tkun Hemm' is now set to be performed by Norbert Bondin.


Mal-Erbat Irjieħ – Deborah C (Renato Briffa / Mark Amaira)

Teenage Talent

Eħlisni Llum – Jurgen Manicolo (Dominic Cini / Kyle Sammut)
Ejjew Nieqfu – Angelica Portelli (Miriam Christine / Joe Chircop)
Flimkien – Anne Marie Gauci (Miriam Christine / Rita Pace)
Int U Jien – David & Svetlanne (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop)
Kull Maħluq – Mikaela Bajada (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop)
Kważi Qatt – Michela Galea (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Keith Zammit)
L-Istorja Tagħna - Michela Dalli (Dominic Cini / Keith Zammit)
SOS – Jessica Cachia (Philip Vella)
Tiġġudikax – Shannon & Whitney (Dominic Cini / Rita Pace)
Storja – Daphne Xuereb (Miriam Christine / Rita Pace)


Bla Kliem - David Mario Fenech (Augusto Cardinali / Giovann Attard)

*NB: The songs marked with an asterix (*) have to have their artists changed or otherwise the song would have to be withdrawn and this is due to the fact that each artist can only perform one song.  In the event that a song is withdrawn, the first song in the reserve list is put into the competition.

Read 5800 times Last modified on Monday, 06 August 2012 16:29

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.