December 12, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Tuesday, 17 June 2014 05:15

KKI 2014: Rumour Mill Highlights New Top 30 List

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

In these past couple of days, several questions have been asked pertaining to the final list of qualifiers for this year's edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza, and despite the fact that the jury made their selection on Saturday 14th June, a conclusion is yet to be reached because of a number of artists who had more than one entry in the list of 30 qualifiers.

In a brief press statement, published through the Official Facebook Page, the organising committee stated that more time had to be given, in order for the songwriters to make their respective vocalist selections, hoping that the qualified songs are not dropped in favour of those in the reserve list, and thus amongst those who reached the original top 40.

At this point in time, we know that 21 performers will retain their songs in the competition with Domenique and Josef Tabone set to hold onto "Mara" composed by Philip Vella to the lyrics of Paul Ellul and Josef Tabone and "Vagabond" written by Clinton Paul, respectively. In the meantime, it is expected that Domenique will drop five of her other qualified entries, with one of them being given to her brother, Christian Azzopardi whilst Josef Tabone has officially announced that he is dropping his second song, thus creating SIX open slots, which would have to be brought in from the reserve list. 

The list as show below is far from ready, and only includes 22 entries, with the remaining slots up for grabs as explained below. It is to be noted that this is a hypothetical list and not confirmed by the organising committee.

Aħjar - Simone Gauci (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Rita Pace)

Biċċa Minni - Geordie DeBono (Renato Briffa / Mark Amaira)

Daqs Xulxin - Charlene Cardona (Minik / Joe Chircop)

Destin - Danica Muscat (Philip Vella)

Din il-Qalb - Francesca Borg (Minik / Mario Farrugia)

F'Dinja Aħjar - Joseph Refalo (Minik / Stephen Baldacchino)

Fuq Dil-Blata - Roseann Cordina (Minik / Paul Ellul)

Ġabuna Indipendenti - Marilena Gauci (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop)

Hemm Int - Valentina Farrugia (Roger Tirazona / Joe Julian Farrugia)

Ibqa' Ħdejja - Ina Robinich (Minik / Deo Grech)

Int - Laura Bruno (Frederick Camilleri)

Kastelli Fl-Arja - Gloriana Arpa Belli (Minik / Keith Zammit)

Kuntenta Kif Jien - Ann Marie Ellul (Rita Pace)

Ma Tintefiex - Neville Refalo (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop)

Mara - Domenique (Philip Vella / Paul Ellul)

Mixja li Bdiet - Janice Mangion (Renato Briffa / Alfred Baldacchino)

Naħfirlek - Franz Bezzina (Augusto Cardinali)

Nemmen fil-Futur - Mattei Curmi (Philip Vella / Cher Vella)

Pass Wara Pass - Minik (Minik / Mario Farrugia) 

Stmerrejtek, Ħabbejtek - Marie Claire (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss)

Tfajla - Donna (Ray Agius / Paul Ellul)

Vagabond - Josef Tabone (Clinton Paul)

Rumour has it that former runner-up Janice Mangion will be taking up "Mixja Li Bdiet" composed by Renato Briffa to the lyrics of Alfred Baldacchino with former finalist Joseph Refalo set to perform "F'Dinja Aħjar" composed by Minik to the lyrics of Stephen Baldacchino. That only leaves minds boggling about Geordie's second song "Tħobbni Kif Jien" composed by Philip Vella to the lyrics of Christopher Azzopardi. It is unknown whether this will be retained or dropped at this stage.

Hence, to recapitulate, 21 performers will retain their songs, there will be at least 2 artists who did not even submit or get through to the top 40, and 6 tracks which did not get through to the top 30 but made the top 40 cut. We urge you to stay tuned to even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news from the 2014 edition of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza.


Read 1906 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.