Print this page
Saturday, 20 August 2011 12:19

KKI 2011: Tele-Voting Continues to Attract Callers

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Some of the most important people within the local music industry continue to promote the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza as being the premier promoter of the Maltese language is song actually especially due to the fact that the Għanja tal-Poplu has been somewhat trying to regain a little bit of composure following a late change in the rules and regulations which saw to the fact that artists can submit songs without having really been part of the songwriting process as long as their team makes an appearance of stage. Both the festivals have managed to have their highlights in terms of quality but the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza which is celebrating it's twentieth edition seems to continue their tradition in promoting the language and the typical Maltese musical edge. In the lead-up to the event, viewers at home are able to hear the songs of the Talent Stabbilit performed on playback each and every week and the songs of the Talent Żagħżugħ performed live. The days are passing by quickly and the final is not that far away now with the 19th September set to be the final evening.

Let's kick off with the category where things seem to matter an awful lot actually. The 'Talent Żagħżugħ' portion continues to draw in quite the amount of voters this year and that is somewhat extremely important in the run-up to the final showcase especially because the three finalists that will be performing during the final night of the festival are relying on a 50% vote from the viewers at home apart from the 50% of the Jury who will be voting on the performances that the participants gave during the programme Indifest hosted by none other than Charles & Elaine Saliba every Tuesday night on NET Television. The list of the current results is as seen below but remember that placings are always subjected to change.

1st Place: Angelica Portelli - Ejjew Nieqfu (Miriam Christine / Joe Chircop) - 52102021 (+/- 0)

2nd Place: Daphne Xuereb - Storja (Miriam Christine / Rita Pace) - 52102029 (+/- 0)

3rd Place: Jessica Cachia - SOS (Philip Vella) - 52102028 (+2)

4th Place: Michela Dalli - L-Istorja Tagħna (Dominic Cini / Keith Zammit) - 52102026 (+2)

5th Place: David u Svetlene - Int u Jien (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) - 52102023 (-2)

6th Place: Michela Galea - Kważi Qatt (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Keith Zammit) - 52102025 (+/- 0)

7th Place: Maria Carabott - Mill-Ħolm għar-Realta' (Mark S Lucas / Paul Callus) - 52102027 (+/- 0)

8th Place: Ann Marie Gauci - Flimkien (Miriam Christine / Rita Pace) - 52102022 (+/- 0)

9th Place:
Mikaela Bajada - Kull Maħluq (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) - 52102024 (+/- 0)

10th Place: Shannon u Whitney - Tiġġudikax (Dominic Cini / Rita Pace) - 52102030 (+/- 0)

The other category is the one which is somewhat even more competitive on the night of the actual festival and this is due to the fact that the Jury will have the most say noting that the tele-voting results which you can see below are for a separate award that will be given at the end of the performances. The places have been cementing down but the interest within the songs continues to grow noting that the acts which take to the studio continue to gain support from the people at home who would be hearing their entries for the very first time. Please note that the list below of the songs in the order as voted by you people at home is subject to change. We urge you to continue voting for your favourite tracks.

1st Place: Deborah C - Fjamma (Philip Vella / Gerard J Borg) - 52102001 (+/- 0)

2nd Place:
Norbert Bondin - Int Tkun Hemm (Philip Vella) - 52102004 (+/- 0)

3rd Place:
Klinsmann - Ħajjitna (Paul Abela / Joe Chircop) - 52102015 (+/- 0)

4th Place: Silent Shout - Għad Fadal Għada (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) - 52102016 (+/- 0)

5th Place: Nadine, Luisana u Charlotte - Liberi (Philip Vella) - 52102011 (+/- 0)

6th Place: Danica - Kliem Li M'Għedtlek Qatt (Mark Debono / Christopher Azzopardi) - 52102005 (+/- 0)

7th Place: Anna Azzopardi - Agħtini Jdejk (Renato Briffa / Alfred E Baldacchino) - 52102019 (+1)

8th Place: Albertine u l-Qamħa - Skont Id-Daqqa Iż-Żifna (minik / Giovann Attard) - 52102008 (+7)

9th Place: Nadine u Fiona - Malta Ġrajjietha (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) - 52102007 (-1)

10th Place: Mike Spiteri - B'Rieda tal-Azzar (Ray Agius) - 52102012 (+4)

11th Place: Ana-Maria Grima - Kif Nista? (Philip Vella) - 52102006 (+/- 0)

12th Place: Marilena Farrugia - Kien Ftit Wisq (Elton Zarb / Ally) - 52102017 (+3)

13th Place: Tiziana Calleja - Kollox Mill-Qalb (John David Zammit / Paul Callus) - 52102013 (-3)

14th Place: Audrey Marie - Ir-Ruħ tat-Tejatru (Rita Pace / Deo Grech) - 52102009 (-2)

15th Place: Neville Refalo - Ħajt tal-Kenn (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) - 52102003 (-4)

16th Place: Marilena Gauci - Dil-Qalb Kbira (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop) - 52102014 (+/- 0)

17th Place: Rita Pace - Kuraġġ (Rita Pace) - 52102018 (+2)

18th Place: Mark Tonna - Meta Jikkalma l-Mewġ (A Cardinali / Giovann Attard) - 52102020 (-1)

19th Place: Valentina Farrugia - Int Biss (Paul Abela / Joe Julia Farrugia) - 52102002 (-1)

20th Place: Janice Mangion - Eternità (Mark Scicluna / Rita Pace) - 52102010 (+/- 0)

Source: Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza Committee, GO

Read 3434 times Last modified on Sunday, 22 January 2012 03:04
Marc Calleja Bayliss

Latest from Marc Calleja Bayliss