December 11, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Saturday, 27 August 2011 17:57

KKI 2011: New Talent Żagħżugħ Leader in Tele-Voting

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The annual Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza is one of the most anticipated music festivals in Malta and this is due to the fact that it is one of the last remaining showcases in which the songs are actually performed within the national language of the country which is Maltese. The history of the showcase has proven to be quite successful with a number of acts establishing themselves on local grounds before going onto success in uncharted foreign waters. This year, the festival will be celebrating it's twentieth edition and therefore the organizers are making sure that the night will be one of the best ever put up in order to compliment the occasion. Over the past couple of weeks, the viewers have been able to hear the songs of the participating entries and also vote for them through a set of tele-voting numbers which appear on screen. Each and every day, through NET Television and the KKIMalta channel of youtube, you can hear the clips of the competing entries and then make your choice and vote for your favourite.

This years' competition will be taking place on Monday 19th September 2011 and will be hosted by Elaine & Charles Saliba on the Granaries in Floriana. Taking a look at the Teenage Category, one which was created for the very first time back in 2008 and has managed to successfully create careers for a number of artists. The first edition was won by none other than Kim with the song 'Kull Mument Prezzjuż' composed by Ray Agius and penned by Godwin Sant. Moving onto the year 2009, the edition was was by the young and talented Dian Bland with the song 'Ġenerazzjoni' composed by Dominic Cini and penned by Clinton Paul and last year, the competition was won by Cherylis Camilleri and her entry 'Nemmen Fik' composed and penned by the singer/songwriter Rita Pace. Who will be following in their footsteps, we are yet to see but the competition is heating up actually and with a fifty (50%) stake in outcome of who will make the night, we are keeping tabs. Below you can see the current placings for this category but of course, we are still very much in the early stages of the competition.

1st Place: Michela Dalli - L-Istorja Tagħna (Dominic Cini / Keith Zammit) - 52102026 (+3)

2nd Place: Angelica Portelli - Ejjew Nieqfu (Miriam Christine / Joe Chircop) - 52102021 (-1)

3rd Place: Jessica Cachia - SOS (Philip Vella) - 52102028 (+/- 0)

4th Place: Michela Galea - Kważi Qatt (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Keith Zammit) - 52102025 (+2)

5th Place: David u Svetlene - Int u Jien (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) - 52102023 (+/0)

6th Place: Daphne Xuereb - Storja (Miriam Christine / Rita Pace) - 52102029 (-4)

7th Place: Maria Carabott - Mill-Ħolm għar-Realta' (Mark S Lucas / Paul Callus) - 52102027 (+/- 0)

8th Place: Ann Marie Gauci - Flimkien (Miriam Christine / Rita Pace) - 52102022 (+/- 0)

9th Place:
Mikaela Bajada - Kull Maħluq (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) - 52102024 (+/- 0)

10th Place: Shannon u Whitney - Tiġġudikax (Dominic Cini / Rita Pace) - 52102030 (+/- 0)

The Established Talent Category offers an award for tele-voting separately from the actual competition and this is done to ensure the professional integrity of the Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza. Over the years, a number of the most established artists won this festival as their starting point whilst others have made it to the finals on a number of occasion. Amongst the notable winners, one would note Ira Losco in 2001, Claudette Pace in 1999, Miriam Christine in 1998, Claudia Faniello in 2007, Eleanor Cassar in 2005 and Lawrence Gray in 2002 whilst finalists have included Klinsmann Coleiro, Annabelle Debono, Dorthy Bezzina, Isabelle, Talitha Dimech, Audrey Marie, Pamela and Maronia amongst others. This year, the competition is quite open so to speak with the level playing field being quite difficult. When performed live, the songs get a new lease of life and this is very important for the final night. Please note that the list below of the songs in the order as voted by you people at home is subject to change. We urge you to continue voting for your favourite tracks.

1st Place: Deborah C - Fjamma (Philip Vella / Gerard J Borg) - 52102001 (+/- 0)

2nd Place:
Norbert Bondin - Int Tkun Hemm (Philip Vella) - 52102004 (+/- 0)

3rd Place:
Klinsmann - Ħajjitna (Paul Abela / Joe Chircop) - 52102015 (+/- 0)

4th Place: Silent Shout - Għad Fadal Għada (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) - 52102016 (+/- 0)

5th Place: Nadine, Luisana u Charlotte - Liberi (Philip Vella) - 52102011 (+/- 0)

6th Place: Danica - Kliem Li M'Għedtlek Qatt (Mark Debono / Christopher Azzopardi) - 52102005 (+/- 0)

7th Place: Albertine u l-Qamħa - Skont Id-Daqqa Iż-Żifna (minik / Giovann Attard) - 52102008 (+1)

8th Place: Anna Azzopardi - Agħtini Jdejk (Renato Briffa / Alfred E Baldacchino) - 52102019 (-1)

9th Place: Nadine u Fiona - Malta Ġrajjietha (Chan Vella / Alexia Schembri) - 52102007 (+/- 0)

10th Place: Mike Spiteri - B'Rieda tal-Azzar (Ray Agius) - 52102012 (+4)

11th Place: Marilena Farrugia - Kien Ftit Wisq (Elton Zarb / Ally) - 52102017 (+1)

12th Place: Ana-Maria Grima - Kif Nista? (Philip Vella) - 52102006 (-1)

13th Place: Audrey Marie - Ir-Ruħ tat-Tejatru (Rita Pace / Deo Grech) - 52102009 (+1)

14th Place: Tiziana Calleja - Kollox Mill-Qalb (John David Zammit / Paul Callus) - 52102013 (-1)

15th Place: Neville Refalo - Ħajt tal-Kenn (Mark Spiteri Lucas / Joe Chircop) - 52102003 (+/- 0)

16th Place: Marilena Gauci - Dil-Qalb Kbira (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop) - 52102014 (+/- 0)

17th Place: Rita Pace - Kuraġġ (Rita Pace) - 52102018 (+/- 0)

18th Place: Mark Tonna - Meta Jikkalma l-Mewġ (A Cardinali / Giovann Attard) - 52102020 (+/- 0)

19th Place: Janice Mangion - Eternità (Mark Scicluna / Rita Pace) - 52102010 (+1)

20th Place: Valentina Farrugia - Int Biss (Paul Abela / Joe Julia Farrugia) - 52102002 (-1)

Source: Konkors Kanzunetta Indipendenza Committee, GO

Read 5524 times Last modified on Sunday, 22 January 2012 03:04

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.