January 25, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha


JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 240

Friday, 03 February 2012 23:00

Malta Eurovision 2012: Semi-Final Qualifiers Revealed

Rate this item
(0 votes)

This evening marked the beginning of the first night of the 2012 edition of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest held under the hospice of the Public Broadcasting Services who in the meantime organized it through a series of sponsorship with leading companies in the country. Nevertheless, the show was a huge success with Ron Briffa, Elaine Saliba and Frank Zammit fitting in their roles perfectly, coming up with a script which was just right for the formality of the evening itself. There were twenty-five artists at the beginning of the evening with twenty-four songs but then again, as a new day dawns, there will be only sixteen (16) in contention to represent Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest in Baku, Azerbaijan.

It is important to point out that the evening was attended by the Swiss representatives for the Eurovision Song Contest; Sinplus who sang their entry 'Unbreakable' and also the leading band in Malta at the moment; Airport Impressions who recently headlined and won at the Bay Music Awards and the Malta Music Awards. Something that the Public Broadcasting Services have failed to acknowledge this year is the fact that this will be the 25th act to represent the country at the nationwide event yet no former winners for example were called and this caused some disappointment amongst the fans that expected something.

After the gloves finally thrown away, the list of qualifiers from this evenings show in the order they were revealed are as follows:

01. You are my Life - Janvil

02. Look at Me Now - Richard Edwards

03. Mystifying Eyes - Corazon Mizzi

04. Autobiography - Dorothy Bezzina

05. First Time - Kaya

06. Answer with Your Eyes - Amber

07. Pure - Claudia Faniello

08. In Your Eyes - Lawrence Grey

09. Time - Wayne Micallef

10. You Make Me Go Uh Uh - Deborah C ft. Leila James

11.  Take Me Far - Francesca Borg

12. This Is The Night - Kurt Calleja

13. 7 Days - Danica Muscat

14. Petals on a Rose - Gianni Zammit

15. No Way Back - Klinsmann

16. I Will Fight For You (Papa's Song) - Fabrizio Faniello

The list in itself is quite interesting and some people might regard the fact that there are some surprises which need to be adhered to so to speak. The draw for the final is yet to be announced because it will now be worked upon according to the backing vocals, dancers and so forth in order not to have a respective clash in terms of performances. This evening was a huge success but all eyes will be on Malta tonight or rather, more eyes will be on Sweden since the Melodifestivalen might end up attracting quite a larger audience figure as they have done in recent years.

A press conference was held just after the showcase in which the Chairman of the Public Broadcasting Services being none other than Joe Mizzi announced that the final tomorrow night will be transmitted live through Ictimai Television which is something that will be happening for the very first time in terms of a local television production. Following the annual thanks to those who support the competition along with the presenters of the evening being Ron Briffa and Elaine Saliba, the draw for the running order was conducted in a manner where it is still somewhat undecided as they were in pots and groups once more.

Running Order:

01. In Your Eyes - Lawrence Gray (Philip Vella & Cher Vella)

02. You Make Me Go Uh Uh - Deborah Cft. Leila James (David Vervoort & Patrick Reiner)

03. Autobiography - Dorothy Bezzina (Magnus Kaxe & Gerard James Borg)

04. Petals On A Rose - Gianni Zammit (R. Abrahamsson, A. Aly, N. Numhauser & T. Fenech)

05. Pure - Claudia Faniello (Philip Vella & Gerard James Borg)

06. Seven Days - Danica Muscat (Philip Vella)

07. I Will Fight For You - Fabrizio Faniello (J. Beoerham, N.Edberger, R.Uhlmann, W.Fenech)

08. Mystifying Eyes - Corazon (Paul Giordimaina & Fleur Balzan)

09. Look At Me Now - Richard Edwards (Jan Van Dijck & Richard Micallef)

10. First Time - Kaya (Gorgi)

11. Answer With Your Eyes - Amber (Ray Agius & Alfred C Sant)

12. Time - Wayne Micallef (Wayne Micallef)

13. This is the Night - Kurt Calleja (Johann J'amtberg & Kurt Calleja)

14. You Are My Life - Janvil (George Platon)

15. No Way Back - Klinsmann (Paul Abela, Klinsmann Coleiro & Jonathan C. Spiteri)

16. Take Me Far - Francesca Borg (Marco Debono & Doris Chetcuti)

I wish all the best to the sixteen finalists and I will be commenting later on tonight! Until later, I wish all the readers goodnight!

Source: TVM

Last modified on Saturday, 04 February 2012 12:10