December 08, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Wednesday, 25 January 2012 15:59

Eurovision 2012: The Semi-Final Allocation Draw

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The 2012 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest will be taking place in Baku, Azerbaijan and the preparations have well and truly begun for the most spectacular event in the continent of Europe when it comes to music. The European Broadcasting Union confirmed the venue earlier this morning showing that things are now falling into place and in a couple of minutes, the Azeri broadcaster, Ictimai will be hosting the semi-final allocation draw which we will be updating you about through a live feed which you can also follow on the official website of the Eurovision Song Contest. There is a spectacular show planned with the inclusion of a number of well known acts. The event is being produced by the company Brainpool, also responsible for the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest.

The show kicks off with a remix of the song 'Running Scared' by Ell & Nikki, the winning entry of the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest. The hosts are now on stage in the illustrious palace and despite being adequately dressed, their English language speaking is something to be far less excited about noting the difficulties that they are facing. The first thing that is presented is the logo and the theme art for this years' event actually and it is none other than 'Light Your Fire'. The inscription is somewhat emblazoned within a burning flower. It seems that there is trouble getting the video of last years' Eurovision Song Contest to work actually. They seem to be trying to cover up the technical fault but they just do not seem that fluent but then again, here it comes, finally. The short video included in a number of good luck greetings and now it seems that the insignia exchange will be taking place. They are giving their respective speeches whilst the Azeri mayor is being translated. The Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, Jon Ola Sand is now on stage as the semi-final allocation draw looms closer. The Big Five alongside Azerbaijan are the first to be drawn and then it was noted that nineteen countries will perform in second semi-final whilst eighteen countries will perform in the first semi-final.


Semi-Final 1:

Italy (Voting)

Azerbaijan (Voting)

Spain (Voting)

Montenegro (First Half)

Iceland (First Half)

Moldova (Second Half)

Cyprus (Second Half)

Romania (First Half)

Austria (Second Half)

Albania (First Half)

Denmark (Second Half)

Russia (Second Half)

Belgium (First Half)

Latvia (First Half)

San Marino (Second Half)

Switzerland (First Half)

Finland (First Half)

Israel (Second Half)

Greece (First Half)

Ireland (First Half)

Hungary (Second Half)


Semi-Final 2:

United Kingdom (Voting)

France (Voting)

Germany (Voting)

Serbia (First Half)

Sweden (Second Half)

Georgia (Second Half)

The Netherlands (First Half)

Portugal (First Half)

Slovenia (Second Half)

FYR Macedonia (First Half)

Estonia (Second Half)

Belarus (First Half)

Turkey (Second Half)

Malta (First Half)

Slovakia (Second Half)

Croatia (Second Half)

Norway (Second Half)

Ukraine (First Half)

Armenia (First Half)

Lithuania (Second Half)

Bulgaria (First Half)

Bosnia & Herzegovina (Second Half)


One has to note that getting drawn in the second semi-final seems to be quite a positive allocation with the inclusion of several countries who have supported Malta in the past including Slovakia, Turkey, Serbia, Germany, Croatia, United Kingdom, The Netherlands, and Slovenia. A quick analysis is that the second semi-final includes nineteen countries and the last time the Maltese delegation performed in the second semi-final was way back in 2008 when Morena and 'Vodka' took to the stage. We will be keeping you posted with all of the latest news on the Eurovision Song Contest as soon as it becomes available.


Last modified on Wednesday, 25 January 2012 18:09