December 13, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Tuesday, 17 January 2012 15:16

Eurovision 2012: Forty Three Countries to Participate

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The 2012 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest seems to have always been a difficult one to host with Baku, Azerbaijan being questioned by a number of nations over security measures but the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) confirmed this morning that the interest is quite simply similar to that of last year when the event was staged in Dusseldorf, Germany because a total of forty three (43) nations intend to participate in the event which will be held for the 57th time this year. Back in 2010, there a crisis because the list of participants dipped just below forty (40) with the withdrawing countries citing financial trouble as their main issue but the economy has picked up a bit and with the help of sponsorships, some nations have secured a bright and positive future. Despite the same number as last year, there is still one minor change to be noted.

The Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest being Jon Ola Sand from Norway stated 'We are excited to once again see over 40 countries at the Eurovision Song Contest. They will gather in Baku in May, get to know the country and its people, and most of all, be part of the most spectacular music entertainment show on earth.' The only nation to have left the Eurvosiion Song Contest is Poland whose national broadcaster, TVp is busy preparing to host the Euro 2012 competition and are therefore putting all of their resources into the sporting event. Sand went onto say 'We truly hope to welcome TVP back again in 2013'. In the meantime, though Armenia has decided to remain in the competition meaning that a deal was reached with the Azeri officials and also the European Broadcasting Union when it comes to security.

  1. Albania (RTVSH)
  2. Armenia (AMPTV)
  3. Austria (ORF)
  4. Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV) (Host Broadcaster)
  5. Belarus (BTRC)
  6. Belgium (VRT)
  7. Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT)
  8. Bulgaria (BNT)
  9. Croatia (HRT)
  10. Cyprus (CyBC)
  11. Denmark (DR)
  12. Estonia (ERR)
  13. Finland (YLE)
  14. France (France TV)
  15. FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  16. Georgia (GTVR)
  17. Germany (NDR/ARD)
  18. Greece (ERT)
  19. Hungary (MTV)
  20. Iceland (RÚV)
  21. Ireland (RTÉ)
  22. Israel (IBA)
  23. Italy (RAI)
  24. Latvia (LTV)
  25. Lithuania (LRT)
  26. Malta (PBS)
  27. Moldova (TRM)
  28. Montenegro (RTCG)
  29. The Netherlands (TROS)
  30. Norway (NRK)
  31. Portugal (RTP)
  32. Romania (TVR)
  33. Russia (RTR)
  34. San Marino (SMRTV)
  35. Serbia (RTS)
  36. Slovakia (STV)
  37. Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  38. Spain (RTVE)
  39. Sweden (SVT)
  40. Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  41. Turkey (TRT)
  42. Ukraine (NTU)
  43. United Kingdom (BBC)

The allocation draw for the semi-finals will be taking place on the 25th January in Baku where the Host City Insignia Exhange is held. There will be the representatives from thirty seven countries who will compete in the semi-finals. The other draw which is somewhat more exciting will take place in March during the traditional heads of delegation meeting. Stay tuned for more information about the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest only on as soon as it becomes available.

Last modified on Tuesday, 17 January 2012 16:22