November 18, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Wednesday, 18 September 2013 17:22

FIKM '13: Finalists Revealed on Television Malta

Rate this item
(9 votes)

Over the past couple of days, has been dominated with news from within the local music scene and predominantly the International Festival of Maltese Song, due to the fact that the elite competition is returning following an eleven (11) year absence. Despite the relatively low amount of submissions, the quality has proven satisfactory and the jury found it extremely difficult to select the fourteen (14) songs which were just revealed by John Bundy on his television programme Ma Bundy. Fourteen entries (14) which represent the local music scene and another fourteen (14) which represent the foreign music market are set to encompass the International Festival of Maltese Song in the years to come.

As the lists of both the local and the foreign finalists could be seen below, one has to remember that the date set forth for the actual competition is the 9th November with the venue being the Mediterranean Conference Centre in Valletta. Details with regards to promotion of the songs is set to be revealed in due course although it is expected that Television Malta, ONE Television, Radju RTK and will be amongst those who will be playing the songs and possibly also get the artists' comments. Glancing through the list, one could see a mixture of upcoming and experienced talent, something that might have been missing from other local competitions as of late. The editorial board would like to congratulate the vocalists, composers and lyricists for making it through to this stage of the competition whilst also thanking those who tried their hand and did not succeed on this occasion.

  • Ħolma - Lyann Iles (Paul Abela / Lyann Iles)
  • Solitaire - Dario & Grecia (Dario Bezzina / Rita Pace)
  • Paċi Sovrana - Donna (Donna Marie Ellul)
  • Kuraġġ - Geordie (Philip Vella / Joe Chircop)
  • Passi Fir-Ramel - Domenique (Philip Vella / Mark Amaira)
  • Għadek Tgħix - Fiona (Renato Briffa / Mark Amaira)
  • Din Jien - Dorcas (Minik / Rita Pace)
  • Sinjali - Bernice (Renato Briffa / Rita Pace)
  • Inti mill-Ġdid - Roger Tirazona (Paul Abela / Joe Julian Farrugia)
  • Hawn mill-Ġdid - Olivia Lewis (Paul Abela / Joe Julian Farrugia)
  • Raġġ ta' Tama' - Christian (Philip Vella / Cher Vella)
  • Mikrokożmu - Janvil & Hooligan (Augusto Cardinali / Giovann Attard)
  • Poeta Bla Kliem - Mark Tonna (Mark Scicluna / Emil Calleja Bayliss)
  • Stejjer - Miriam Christine (Andrew Zahra / Joe Julian Farrugia)
  • Arġentina – Veronica Sardana - No IIores por mi Argentina (cover version of Don’t Cry for Me Argentina)
  • Belarussja – Aleksandra & Konstantin (former Eurovision singers’04) - Kotsiky Viarrovyia
  • Belarussja – George Koldun  – Through the Light
  • Bulgarija – Niki Manolov (finalist Bulgarian Final for Eurovision’08) – Po Dobre (Better) 
  • Greċja – Christos Kaliatsas (Xfactor ’08 Greece) – Touch You 
  • Ġermanja – Bella Vista - Fremd Aber Doch vertraut (German version of Sal-Aħħar, Fabrizio Faniello)
  • Ġermanja – Mave O’Rick – Whiter than White
  • Italja – Federica Marinari – 3 Volte Amore
  • Moldova – Ray Gligor – Lonely Nights, Lonely Dreams
  • Renju Unit – Ilona – Love ‘s Like a loaded Gun
  • Rumanija – Aurelian Temisan – Stay With Me (English verision of Stay with me, Croatia ESC 2000)
  • Rumanija – Lavinia Steriopol – Nadie Como Tu 
  • Spanja – Ely Qurbrlo – Io Ce Credo
  • Turkija – Melih Sengul – Bir Ask (One Love)

In the first phase of the competition, the jury was composed of; Frederick Zammit, Noel D'Anastasi, Tony Micallef, Melda Micallef, Charlo' Lautier and George Cremona whilst in the second phase of the competition, the jury was composed of; Antoinette Falzon, John Bundy, Joyce Grech, Etienne Schembri, Josephine Ebejer Grech, Madelline Farrugia, Siro Camilleri and David Muscat. The organising committee is made up of Chairperson Mrs Josette Grech Hamilton, Deputy chairperson Mr Ignatius Farrugia, Executive Secretary Mr Robert Cefai, Public Relations Officer & Media Relations Mr Deo Grech, Festival Coordinator Mr Ray Falzon, Hospitality Coordinator Ms Simone Bugeja and Technical Coordinator Mr Pierre Cachia. Mr Norman Hamilton serves as the artistic consultant, Mr Anton Attard as the technical consultant on behalf of PBS and Maestro Sigmund Mifsud as the musical consultant. The International Festival of the Maltese Song is organised under the auspices of the Parliamentary Secretary for Culture and Local Councils, Hon. Dr. J. Herrera in collaboration with the World Association of Festival organisers and Artists. Stay tuned to for all of the latest news as soon as it becomes available.

Source: FIKM '13 (Facebook Page)

Last modified on Sunday, 29 September 2013 16:56