February 20, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Monday, 10 February 2014 18:03

MMAs 14: Ira Losco Triumphs in Major Categories

Rate this item
(2 votes)

It has definitely been a week to remember for Ira Losco, Malta’s representative at the 2002 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest, having been appointed as co-host of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest alongside Gianluca Bezzina and Moira Delia, and thus given the opportunity to perform a multitude of tracks as a guest performer including; What I’d Give, Me Luv U Long Time, L-Aħħar Bidwi F’Wied il-Għasel, Let Her Go and Fever.

Last night though, will definitely have been the cherry on the cake with Ira swooping three (3) major accolades during the Malta Music Awards; Best Solo Artist, Best Music Video, Best Album, and ultimately missing out on Best Song, that going to ‘The Runaway’ by Red Electrick. The evening, one which will surely be recognised in the history of the local music scene featured a series of performances from artists such as; Sophie, Norbert, Andi, Winter Moods, Gaia Cauchi, The Crowns Airport Impressions and of course, Ira Losco and Airport Impressions.

Best Band: Red Electrick

Best Solo Artist: Ira Losco

Best Music Video: Me Luv U Long Time - Ira Losco 

Best Song: The Runaway - Red Electrick

Best Album: The Fire - Ira Losco

Best New Artist: Plan Zero

International Achievement Award: Gaia Cauchi

Recognition Award: Gillian Attard

The winner of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, recipient of the International Achievement Award in 2013, was re-awarded with the prestigious accolade for the second year running, following her outstanding achievement on foreign waters. On the other hand, her vocal coach and co-writer of ‘The Start’ was given a recognition award for supporting the local music scene in the best possible manner noting that the oustanding talent of prodigies such as Veronica Rotin, Shauna Vassallo, Gaia Cauchi and most recently, Federica Falzon. TVM will be airing the Awards Ceremony in due course. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for more of the latest news.

Source: MMM / escflashmalta.com / G Stellini (Photo)


Last modified on Monday, 10 February 2014 20:42